Username: Password:

Author Topic: Noob here.  (Read 1008 times)

Offline PHPaul

• View Profile
  • Bike: 1986 700SC-G
Noob here.
« on: January 14, 2017, 09:22:12 AM »
Not new to riding, got my MC license in 1966  bugeye1

Found this site while looking for information on my Grandson's 1986 700SC-G.

I think we got a pretty good deal on it.  32K miles, new tires front and rear, Corbin seat.  Only things that need attention are cosmetic:  paint faded badly on side covers and tail piece, windshield faded/crazed, mounting pegs broken on right side cover.  Paid $750 for it and rode it home.

It's in my garage for a little TLC over the winter.  Replaced a leaking cam cover gasket, cleaned and kitted the carbs, replaced a corroded ground cable.  Still need to flush and bleed the brakes and it'll be ready for the riding season.

Left to right:  Grandson with his Nighthawk, Daughter with her '16 Yamaha (I can say "Yamaha" here, can't I?) Bolt, me with my '16 Yamaha (there's that word again...) FJ09.

My 1974 Suzuki GT550 Triple that I rebuilt and customized a little last Winter.   Bobbed the fenders and put a cafe seat on it as the original seat was beyond saving.  Spent a LOT of time (and a fair-sized chunk of money) sorting out the wiring, the previous owner was a big believer in electrical tape, toggle switches, and wire from extension cords.   whaaaat3   I get a lot of "what the heck IS that?" when I ride it.  Sure makes me appreciate modern stuff like fuel injection...

My (for now...it's being sold on the installment plan) 1979 Yamaha (can you tell I like Yamahas?) XS650SF.  This is the bike that got me back into serious riding after a long break.  Still enjoy it, but can't justify three bikes and needed to sell it to help cover the cost of the FJ.

Really appreciate the knowledge represented here.  Got me out of a bind after I had a stupid attack and swapped the plug leads on 3 & 4 after replacing the cam cover gasket   Doh...

Offline Hog Dog

• Contributing Member