Username: Password:

Author Topic: Any "high mileage" NH owners out there?  (Read 6451 times)

Offline rut3556

• View Profile
  • Bike: Suzuki DL650
Any "high mileage" NH owners out there?
« on: June 11, 2014, 07:45:56 AM »
Howdy all,

Am about to look at a very nice '93 Nighthawk with 32K miles on the clock. Are there any of you out there with similar "high miles" on their Nighthawks, and should I be overly concerned? I've owned several bikes I knew were good for 100K+, but I have no experience with this particular bike or engine.

Thanks in advance,

RUT

Offline ariwhiteboy

• Last of the V8 Moderators
  • Veteran Member
    • View Profile
  • Bike: CB1K-Literhawk
Re: Any "high mileage" NH owners out there?
« Reply #1 on: June 11, 2014, 07:53:56 AM »
32K is nothing on a NH. Look for obvious signs of abuse/neglect, but it should be just fine. Many NH owners have rolled 100K and beyond.
What is good Phaedrus...

Offline umpire

• View Profile
  • Bike: 84 700s Blue
« Reply #2 on: June 11, 2014, 09:14:22 AM »
Yep,  My 84 has 46,000 tics on her , still going strong . Doesn`t use any oil hapdude2
 Them Honda inline 4`s are darn near bullet proof bkr3
 Umpire

Offline WoodIsland

• View Profile
  • Bike: 1984 CB650SC
« Reply #3 on: June 11, 2014, 09:51:35 AM »
Over 52K here--the two previous owners put most of them on there and took great care of it!

Offline ExTex

• Contributing Member
    • View Profile
  • Bike: 2015 CB500F
« Reply #4 on: June 11, 2014, 10:03:27 AM »
Almost 40k on my 1983 650.  No problems after the stator and R/R replaced.

ride safely,
Sold:1983 CB650sc & VT500c & VF700S

Offline RJ CB650

• Contributing Member
    • View Profile
  • Bike: 82 CB650sc
« Reply #5 on: June 11, 2014, 10:11:12 AM »
I think bajakirch has over 130k on his nighthawk.  That is the name in my head, but might not be correct.  It was in old forums the post about time to overhaul.  Believe 60k is when they start being considered high miles and needing service.